Toggle Contrast

Bedfordshire Symphony Orchestra concert

Book Now
  • Sat 20 May7:30pmBook

Telephone bookings please call01234 718044

Bedfordshire Orchestral Society

Soloist Gabrielė Sutkutė

Conductor Michael Rose


Kodaly Dances of Galanta

Grieg Piano Concerto in A Minor

Schubert Symphony No. 9 in C Major, D. 944 (The Great)


The Bedfordshire Symphony Orchestra’s next concert, the last to be conducted by its renowned conductor, Michael Rose, will feature three masterpieces of folk dances by Kodaly, jazz rhythms by Ravel, and symphonic grandeur by Schubert.

Zoltan Kodály’s Dances of Galánta was composed in 1933 on commission for the 80th anniversary of the Budapest Philharmonic Society, and is based on the verbunkos folk music of Galánta (now part of Slovakia), where Kodály lived for several years.

In a late change to the originally advertised programme, the orchestra will welcome award-winning Lithuanian pianist Gabrielė Sutkutė to perform Grieg’s Piano Concerto in A Minor. One of the most frequently played piano concertos, this famous concerto owes its popularity to its great pianistic bravura and its attractive lyricism. The work is strongly influenced by the Norwegian folk music in which the young Grieg was becoming greatly interested; many of the themes have an actual or suggested drone bass, a characteristic of Norwegian folk dance and the instruments on which it was played.

Franz Schubert’s  Symphony No. 9 in C major, D 944, was composed in 1828, the year of Schubert’s death, and was never heard by the composer. Indeed, the symphony’s structure may have played a part, as the Vienna Philharmonic’s musicians claimed that the work was too long and difficult even to tackle in rehearsal. The symphony begins with a noble, reflective theme, initially heard from the horns, and the work’s grandeur and sense of space throughout its four movements, together with its sheer length, helped to earn it the nickname the ‘Great C Major’.

We hope you will join us to celebrate Michael Rose’s lengthy tenure, and also enjoy this wonderful concert of music by Kodaly, Ravel and Schubert!

Main Auditorium, St Paul’s Square, Bedford MK40 1SL
Main Auditorium
Tiered and Stalls
Ticket Prices
Show Date & Time
Sat 20th May7:30pm
Opening Times
Bar & Box Office7:00 pm
Doors7:00 pm
Book Now
  • Sat 20 May7:30pmBook

Telephone bookings please call01234 718044

Terms & Conditions

Transaction Fee
All online bookings are subject to a £3.15 transaction fee. All bookings over £8.00 made in person or via telephone are subject to a £2.12 transaction fee. This fee is applicable per booking, not per ticket. VAT is included in the price of all tickets purchased on our website or via the Box Office.

In common with general theatre practice, we regret that tickets cannot be exchanged or refunded after purchase, except where a show is cancelled. We can accept your tickets for resale, but the venue’s unsold tickets will take priority. A charge of £1.00 will be made if tickets are sold on your behalf.

Tickets can be reserved for a period of 7 days. No unpaid reservations can be accepted in the 4 days prior to a performance.

To avoid disturbing the audience and performers, latecomers to some shows may not be admitted until a suitable break in the performance.

Is described as a ticket fee which covers, venue repair or replacement, front of house staffing and any other costs needed to run an event this is charged at varied rates depending on demand for the event.