<August 2017>
SMTWTFS
search shows by date
12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031

 

What's On

The Bedford Corn Exchange promotes a programme of live events featuring performers from the worlds of comedy, theatre and music. We are also proud to boast one of only two UK residencies of the Philharmonia Orchestra outside London.

 

next show

Date: Wednesday 22nd November Time: 7.30pm

Venue: Main Auditorium

Philharmonia 17/18 Season

Philharmonia
Philharmonia 17/18 Season

SHOSTAKOVICH & RACHMANINOV

Long Yu conductor

George Li piano

 

GLINKA Overture, Ruslan and Ludmilla

RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No. 2

SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 5

 

For Dmitri Shostakovich, his Fifth Symphony really was a matter of life and death. Written in Stalin’s USSR, this is music on the edge: a shout of defiance in a time of terror, and one of the most powerful and personal statements in all of 20th-century music. It’s a gripping contrast to the romance of Rachmaninov’s hugely popular piano concerto — played by the brilliant young American star George Li — and Glinka’s sparkling little firecracker of an overture.

Upcoming Shows

November 2017

Philharmonia 17/18 Season
more infobuy tickets

Philharmonia 17/18 Season

Wed 22 Nov 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Paul Foot: ’Tis a Pity She’s a Piglet
more infobuy tickets

Paul Foot: 'Tis a Pity She's a Piglet

Fri 24 Nov 8.00pm
Venue: Harpur Suite

Elgar - The Kingdom
more infobuy tickets

Elgar - The Kingdom

Sat 25 Nov 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Tom Allen: Absolutely
more infobuy tickets

Tom Allen: Absolutely

Sat 25 Nov 8.00pm
Venue: Harpur Suite

A Night of Dirty Dancing
more infobuy tickets

A Night of Dirty Dancing

Sun 26 Nov 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Bedford College Achievement Ceremony
more infobuy tickets

Bedford College Achievement Ceremony

Tue 28 Nov 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Faulty Towers - The Dining Experience
more infobuy tickets

Faulty Towers - The Dining Experience

Wed 29 Nov 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The Johnny Cash Roadshow
more infobuy tickets

The Johnny Cash Roadshow

Thu 30 Nov 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

December 2017

The Dreamboys 2017
more infobuy tickets

The Dreamboys 2017

Fri 01 Dec 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Autism Bedfordshire and Cords Choir Christmas Carol Concert
more infobuy tickets

Autism Bedfordshire and Cords Choir Christmas Carol Concert

Sun 03 Dec 2.00pm
Venue: Harpur Suite

Sing On
more infobuy tickets

Sing On

Wed 06 Dec 6.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Sing On
more infobuy tickets

Sing On

Thu 07 Dec 6.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Soul II Soul ft Jazzie B OBE &amp; Caron Wheeler
more infobuy tickets

Soul II Soul ft Jazzie B OBE & Caron Wheeler

Fri 08 Dec 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The Lock In ’Christmas Carol’ featuring The Demon Barbers
more infobuy tickets

The Lock In 'Christmas Carol' featuring The Demon Barbers

Sun 10 Dec 6.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

ELIZA CARTHY &amp; THE WAYWARD BAND
more infobuy tickets

ELIZA CARTHY & THE WAYWARD BAND

Thu 14 Dec 7.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Bedford Corn Exchange Christmas Party
more infobuy tickets

Bedford Corn Exchange Christmas Party

Fri 15 Dec 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Christmas Carols
more infobuy tickets

Christmas Carols

Sat 16 Dec 7.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Neil Sands Christmas Memories
more infobuy tickets

Neil Sands Christmas Memories

Tue 19 Dec 2.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Pantomime - Dick Whittington
more infobuy tickets

Pantomime - Dick Whittington

Wed 27 Dec 6.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Pantomime - Dick Whittington
more infobuy tickets

Pantomime - Dick Whittington

Thu 28 Dec 6.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Pantomime - Dick Whittington
more infobuy tickets

Pantomime - Dick Whittington

Thu 28 Dec 2.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Pantomime - Dick Whittington
more infobuy tickets

Pantomime - Dick Whittington

Fri 29 Dec 2.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Pantomime - Dick Whittington
more infobuy tickets

Pantomime - Dick Whittington

Fri 29 Dec 6.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Pantomime - Dick Whittington
more infobuy tickets

Pantomime - Dick Whittington

Sat 30 Dec 6.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Pantomime - Dick Whittington
more infobuy tickets

Pantomime - Dick Whittington

Sat 30 Dec 2.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Pantomime - Dick Whittington
more infobuy tickets

Pantomime - Dick Whittington

Sun 31 Dec 2.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

January 2018

Pantomime - Dick Whittington
more infobuy tickets

Pantomime - Dick Whittington

Mon 01 Jan 2.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

I’m Not Just an Italian at Christmas - Enrico Rennella
more infobuy tickets

I'm Not Just an Italian at Christmas - Enrico Rennella

Sun 07 Jan 6.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The Best of Wham
more infobuy tickets

The Best of Wham

Sat 13 Jan 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

A Walk in the Woods Study Day
more infobuy tickets

A Walk in the Woods Study Day

Sat 20 Jan 10.30am
Venue: 0

Jason Manford: Work in Progress
more infobuy tickets

Jason Manford: Work in Progress

Mon 22 Jan 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Barry Steele &amp; Friends:  The Roy Orbison Story
more infobuy tickets

Barry Steele & Friends: The Roy Orbison Story

Fri 26 Jan 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Sinfonia Vive La France
more infobuy tickets

Sinfonia Vive La France

Sat 27 Jan 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Philharmonia 17/18 Season
more infobuy tickets

Philharmonia 17/18 Season

Tue 30 Jan 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

February 2018

Upbeat Beatles
more infobuy tickets

Upbeat Beatles

Fri 02 Feb 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

MESSAGE IN A BOTTLE A Tribute to The Police
more infobuy tickets

MESSAGE IN A BOTTLE A Tribute to The Police

Fri 09 Feb 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Islands in the Stream: The Music of Dolly Parton &amp; Kenny Rogers
more infobuy tickets

Islands in the Stream: The Music of Dolly Parton & Kenny Rogers

Sat 10 Feb 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Ed Byrne: Spoiler Alert
more infobuy tickets

Ed Byrne: Spoiler Alert

Fri 16 Feb 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Ray Mears ’Going WIld - Encore’
more infobuy tickets

Ray Mears 'Going WIld - Encore'

Sat 17 Feb 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The Elo Encounter
more infobuy tickets

The Elo Encounter

Fri 23 Feb 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

BSO Romantic Masterpieces
more infobuy tickets

BSO Romantic Masterpieces

Sat 24 Feb 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Wannabe - The Spice Girls Show
more infobuy tickets

Wannabe - The Spice Girls Show

Sun 25 Feb 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

March 2018

Milton Jones is out there
more infobuy tickets

Milton Jones is out there

Thu 01 Mar 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The Floyd Effect - ’The Pink Floyd Tribute Show’ -  The Bell and Moon Tour 2018
more infobuy tickets

The Floyd Effect - 'The Pink Floyd Tribute Show' - The Bell and Moon Tour 2018

Fri 02 Mar 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Mr Eazi - Life is Eazi
more infobuy tickets

Mr Eazi - Life is Eazi

Sun 11 Mar 7.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Philharmonia 17/18 Season
more infobuy tickets

Philharmonia 17/18 Season

Tue 20 Mar 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The Quo Experience
more infobuy tickets

The Quo Experience

Fri 23 Mar 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

April 2018

Purple Rain - A Celebration of Prince
more infobuy tickets

Purple Rain - A Celebration of Prince

Sun 01 Apr 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Eleanor Conway’s Walk of Shame
more infobuy tickets

Eleanor Conway's Walk of Shame

Fri 06 Apr 7.30pm
Venue: Harpur Suite

Philharmonia 17/18 Season
more infobuy tickets

Philharmonia 17/18 Season

Sat 07 Apr 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The Wizard of Oz
more infobuy tickets

The Wizard of Oz

Mon 09 Apr 3.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The Wizard of Oz
more infobuy tickets

The Wizard of Oz

Mon 09 Apr 6.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Paul Chowdhry: Live Innit
more infobuy tickets

Paul Chowdhry: Live Innit

Wed 11 Apr 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Abba Forever
more infobuy tickets

Abba Forever

Fri 13 Apr 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

RUBY WAX FRAZZLED A Guide to Mindfulness A Forum For Discussion
more infobuy tickets

RUBY WAX FRAZZLED A Guide to Mindfulness A Forum For Discussion

Wed 18 Apr 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Menopause The Musical
more infobuy tickets

Menopause The Musical

Thu 19 Apr 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The World Famous Elvis Show Starring Chris Connor
more infobuy tickets

The World Famous Elvis Show Starring Chris Connor

Fri 20 Apr 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

2-Tone Tribute Tour
more infobuy tickets

2-Tone Tribute Tour

Sat 21 Apr 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Sinfonia Children’s Concert
more infobuy tickets

Sinfonia Children's Concert

Sun 22 Apr 4.00pm
Venue: 0

Grumpy Old Women To The Rescue
more infobuy tickets

Grumpy Old Women To The Rescue

Thu 26 Apr 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

That 80s Rock Show
more infobuy tickets

That 80s Rock Show

Sat 28 Apr 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

May 2018

Philharmonia 17/18 Season
more infobuy tickets

Philharmonia 17/18 Season

Wed 09 May 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Iain Stirling - ’U Ok Hun? X’
more infobuy tickets

Iain Stirling - 'U Ok Hun? X'

Thu 10 May 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The Live Aid Experience
more infobuy tickets

The Live Aid Experience

Fri 11 May 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Livewire AC/DC Show
more infobuy tickets

Livewire AC/DC Show

Fri 18 May 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

BSO From West to East
more infobuy tickets

BSO From West to East

Sat 19 May 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

The Skids + Spear of Destiny
more infobuy tickets

The Skids + Spear of Destiny

Sun 27 May 7.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

World Cup Roadshow
more infobuy tickets

World Cup Roadshow

Wed 30 May 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

June 2018

Richard Herring: Oh Frig, I’m 50!
more infobuy tickets

Richard Herring: Oh Frig, I'm 50!

Fri 01 Jun 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Joe Lycett: I’m About To Lose Control And I Think Joe Lycett
more infobuy tickets

Joe Lycett: I'm About To Lose Control And I Think Joe Lycett

Sun 03 Jun 8.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Jive Talkin: The Bee Gees
more infobuy tickets

Jive Talkin: The Bee Gees

Fri 22 Jun 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

I’m Still Standing - The Elton John Story
more infobuy tickets

I'm Still Standing - The Elton John Story

Sat 30 Jun 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

July 2018

Frankie Valli &amp; The Four Seasons
more infobuy tickets

Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons

Fri 06 Jul 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Neil Sands - Land of Hope and Glory
more infobuy tickets

Neil Sands - Land of Hope and Glory

Thu 19 Jul 2.00pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

September 2018

The Three Degrees
more infobuy tickets

The Three Degrees

Fri 21 Sep 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

October 2018

Northern Soul Live
more infobuy tickets

Northern Soul Live

Fri 12 Oct 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

Lipstick On Your Collar
more infobuy tickets

Lipstick On Your Collar

Fri 19 Oct 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium

November 2018

The Real Thing
more infobuy tickets

The Real Thing

Fri 02 Nov 7.30pm
Venue: Main Auditorium